Switzerland and the Benedictines

The Benedictine Confederation is federally organized and currently consists of 21 congregations. These group together independent abbeys and priories in a loose association. The classification is usually by country or by language groups, some congregations are internationally structured, such as the Missionary Congregation of St. Ottilien. The Swiss Benedictine Congregation was founded in 1602. In 2015, it counted 190 monks in the monasteries of Einsiedeln, Disentis, Muri-Gries, Engelberg, Fischingen, Mariastein and Marienberg.